crispy herb crusted halibut

fishy fishy

This dish was sort of a revelation for someone who has had lukewarm feelings about most types of fish for years.  I could eat catfish and trout that I caught with my dad, as long as it was breaded and fried.  But any other fish besides those two, some sushi, and smoked salmon had me turning up my nose.  I love other seafood, why not fish?  This has always perplexed me, and I found myself passing on fish at the grocery store even though I desperately wanted to add a different protein into my diet.

Then, my parents were gifted with some halibut a friend of theirs caught while vacationing in Alaska (vacuum-sealed and frozen for the trip back to Iowa), and they generously passed along some of the bounty.  Even though I wasn’t sure I would like it, I accepted the halibut because I still wanted to see if I could eat fish more often.  And with this recipe, it was mission accomplished – for halibut at least!  Maybe I can eventually add a few different kinds of fish into the dinner rotation!

A note about the ingredient list:  do not fear the potato flakes.  With them, the herb crust has a fabulous crunchy texture and doesn’t taste a bit like potatoes.  I bought a small box of potato flakes just for this recipe, and it was well worth it.  I don’t use them for anything else.  And the amount that you mix up for the recipe is more than enough – I place the leftover herb crust mixture in a plastic bag and freeze it until I need it again.

fishy 2

Crispy Herb Crusted Halibut

Adapted from Food Network

Yields 2 servings

Ingredients

2 (6 ounce) halibut fillets, skin removed
Kosher salt
2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped (or 1 tablespoon dried thyme)
2 tablespoons chives, minced
1 tablespoon flat-leaf parsley, chopped
1 cup instant mashed potato flakes 
1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water
Extra-virgin olive oil
fresh lemon juice

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Heat oil in large saute pan over medium-high heat. Prepare halibut fillets while oil is heating up, and sprinkle them with salt to taste.
  3. Combine herbs and potato flakes in a shallow dish, and egg with water in another shallow dish. Dip the flesh side of each fillet into the egg mixture and then press them into the herb and potato mixture.
  4. When the olive oil in the saute pan is hot but not smoking, add fish, crusted side down.  Allow to cook until the crust is golden and crispy, about 2 to 3 minutes.
  5. Transfer the fish, crust side up, onto a cooling rack that has been placed on a rimmed baking sheet.
  6. Place fish in the oven and bake for 5 to 6 minutes.
  7. Drizzle fish with lemon juice and serve immediately.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “crispy herb crusted halibut”

  1. The Cosy Kitchen says :

    Cannot wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

