pasta with scallops and shrimp

I’m (kind of) back!!  Sorry about the too long hiatus – for a very long time, I thought  I was too busy to post.  Then I started grad school this fall, and I’ve really BEEN too busy to post.  But I haven’t been too busy to cook – although I have had to scale back my time spent in the kitchen a bit.   I can barely find time to search for new recipes to try, let alone attempt to prepare anything remotely elaborate.  However, I find comfort in the knowledge that “easy” does not have to mean “boring” when cooking, this pasta dish is an excellent example of that truth.

It’s not too fancy, and couldn’t be much easier to prepare – the most involved step is cleaning the shrimp.  My recipe is (very loosely) based on a 1990 recipe that included toasted walnuts in the sauce and calamari instead of scallops.  I’m sharing my version here because I misplaced the original earlier this week, and while it was found after a short, frantic search, I was warned not to lose it again.  Or else.  All right, it wasn’t really that dire, but we enjoy the recipe and hope you do, too.

And I realize that the picture is not very appetizing; maybe I’ll make this dish again soon and take new pictures. (Picture updated!)  You know, in my spare time.

IMG_4713

 

 Pasta with scallops and shrimp

Yields 4 servings

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
3 large garlic cloves, minced
1-1/2 cups chicken broth or stock
2 to 3 medium tomatoes, chopped (or 14 oz. can diced tomatoes)
1/4 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup Italian parsley, chopped
3/4 teaspoon dried oregano, or double amount fresh oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
3/4 pound pasta
1/2 pound bay scallops
3/4 pound large shrimp, cleaned and cut into thirds
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Method

  1. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat; add garlic, cook for 1 minute.
  2. Add chicken stock, tomatoes, wine, parsley, oregano, salt, and black pepper.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium and simmer until reduced by half, about 15 minutes.
  3. Cook pasta in boiling salted water according to package directions; drain in colander and set aside.
  4. Add the scallops and shrimp to the sauce and simmer until the seafood is cooked through, about 2 to 4 minutes.  Remove from heat.
  5. Add pasta to sauce and combine; sprinkle with red pepper flakes and additional parsley, if desired.
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

