absurdly chocolate-y chocolate brownies

I’ve been feeling guilty for neglecting the blog so much for the past few months.  It seems like one thing after another keeps popping up, and I keep cooking and drafting recipes, but I never seem to have time to write up the posts lately.  Most recently, I’ve been working on finalizing my application to grad school.  In fact, I should be working on that RIGHT NOW, but instead, I thought it might be the perfect time to share an excellent brownie recipe!!

I was charged with the task of bringing dessert to a recent dinner party, and the other member of my household had been having serious brownie cravings for about a week, so my decision about what to bring was already made .  When I started sifting through recipes, I was hoping just to find something that was merely above average.  This is what I came up with, and might I just say, now I feel like a bit of an overachiever.

These brownies are ridiculous.  They are miles away from most of the probably-came-straight-from-a-box brownies you might encounter at, say, a food day at work.  They are dense and fudge-y with intense chocolate flavor, but not overly sweet.  I used all of the chocolate I had on hand (a few ounces less than what the original recipe suggested), and they were gleefully deemed by one member of the party, between bites, to be “almost too chocolate-y.”  I call that a win.

Super Chocolate Brownies

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Yields 12 brownies

Ingredients

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1-1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1/3 cup walnuts, chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Brush the inside of a 9-inch square baking dish with extra butter.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.
  3. Place butter (1 stick) and chopped chocolate in  a large heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Heat, stirring occasionally, until smooth (3-5 minutes).  Remove bowl from pan
  4. Add sugar to the chocolate/butter mixture and stir to combine.  Add eggs, and mix to combine.  Add flour mixture and stir just until moistened (do not overmix).
  5. Fold in walnuts.
  6. Pour batter into buttered baking pan and smooth the top.
  7. Bake 25-35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out with no more than a few crumbs.
  8. Cool in pan for 30 minutes; remove to cutting board and slice brownies.
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

