apple streusel muffins

I was recently recruited to help jointly organize a baby shower for a friend from high school.  We had an informal gathering at the expectant mother’s house, ostensibly to discuss plans for the shower – what kind of decorations would we need, what the invitations should say – but mostly we just chatted while we consumed our choice of three different kinds of ice cream.  Once we were glutted on pralines and cream, mint chip, and straight vanilla, the inevitable subject of what food to serve at the brunch-y shower was introduced.  I immediately volunteered my baking services because I knew I finally had the perfect opportunity to set my inner baker free.

I previously said that I’m not big on the baking because I don’t really need an entire batch of brownies looking all come-hither on my counter.  If they’re sitting there, I already know I will eat way more than I should before I panic and either end up driving to a friend’s house to unload the rest or chucking the remainder into the trash.  This was a lesson I learned more than once many years ago.  But I will still almost always jump at the chance to bake for a crowd – I can indulge my love of baking, sample the goods, and remove temptation by transporting the finished product out of my kitchen.  Perfect.

After reviewing and rejecting piles of recipes, I finally settled on three items to bake for the shower:  fig and walnut biscotti, raspberry lemon muffins, and apple streusel muffins.  They were all good, but the apple streusel muffins were undeniably everyone’s favorite, including mine.  I hope I have another excuse to bake them soon.

apple muffins
muffins

Apple Streusel Muffins

Adapted from Taste of Home

Yields 24 muffins

Ingredients

4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
1 cup butter, melted
2-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups tart apples, peeled and chopped

Streusel topping:

2/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons cold butter

Glaze:

1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 to 2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon butter, melted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

Method

  1. In a large bowl, combine the main muffin dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, butter, and vanilla.  Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened (batter will be stiff).  Fold in apples
  3. Fill greased muffin cups 3/4 full.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon for the streusel topping.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Sprinkle over batter in muffin cups.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Combine glaze ingredients and drizzle over muffins.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

