roasted asparagus

Mom and Dad's garden in mid-July

Mom and Dad's garden in mid-July

garden2

I searched my picture files and discovered that I don’t have any acceptable photos of the roasted asparagus side we made to accompany our crazy good grilled cheese.  I’m really very sorry, I’m not sure how that happened.  I DO have new pictures from the garden to share, and they are only a week old!  Sigh.  I’m aware that I’ve been a huge slacker lately in the posting department, but I can assure you that I haven’t stopped cooking.  It’s just been taking me longer to coax posts out of my draft file.

As soon as I have a picture of this dish, I will update this post to include it.  I should be able to to provide said update very soon – it won’t be long before I’m craving roasted asparagus again. This dish has so much to recommend it – it’s easy to throw together, is done in minutes, and the asparagus is all tender and flavorful when it comes out of the oven.  I’ve roasted asparagus before, and it was just o.k., but the addition of the lemon juice really makes it great.

asparagus1

Roasted Asparagus

Yields 4 servings

Ingredients

1 lb. asparagus, rinsed, tough ends broken off and discarded
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
Kosher salt
black pepper
lemon juice

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place asparagus in a single layer on a baking sheet or foil-covered roasting pan.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with minced garlic, salt and pepper.  Roll asparagus back and forth to distribute oil, garlic, salt and pepper.
  3. Place pan in the oven, cook for 8 to 10 minutes until the asparagus is lightly browned and tender when pierced with a fork.
  4. Drizzle with 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice just before serving.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. grilled cheese perfected « Not a Farm Girl - July 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

